Lately, I have been trying to look for a good online company that can get me quotes. I just typed in auto insurance in my specific town in Google and I was returned with a lot of good leads. But then I clicked on the first one and low and behold, the first thing I found was a scam website. Then I typed in another keyword “auto insurance quotes California.” That’s when all the good sites came out. I was able to find one that really focused on customer service.

Thinking about my experience made me wonder about the nature of the internet. There are really a lot of scammers in the net. Conversely, there are also a lot of great finds, and content in the net that one can get cheap or even for free. I have read up on the postmodern theories of deconstruction and I find that the internet embodies a lot of important post-structural ideas. In post-structuralist thought, there is an emphasis on the materiality of language or “textuality.” This term comes from the structuralist ideas of the arbitrary connection between sign and signifiers and the therefore slippery connection between the two. There is no real necessary correspondence between the two. And language is material, meaning it is subject to vicissitudes, corruption, and manipulation. It also contains ideas of the undecidbility of the text or its indeterminacy. To me, I think of how the idea of identity becomes confused or rather is destroyed in the flux of the endlessly perfomative aspect of language.

In the internet, texts are so easy to reproduce. They are also so separate from the speaker which, as the old theories presume, is the holder of the true meaning of the words. Okay, so maybe I am no real expert on the subject and that I really can’t say that I have the firmest grasp of these terms and idea. But when you see a picture in the internet, say of someone dying, or say just of anything, then it is violently extricated out of its context, and is say posted in a forum in another, funnier or perhaps entertaining context, you really see how the image as text is emptied of identity and is slips so easily among contexts and meanings.

That was quite a ramble about the ideas I don’t really have a handle on. Anyway, for those who want to find a good car insurance quote online, just type in the keywords along with your state (for example: auto insurance quotes California) and you will find what you need.
6/15/2010 09:00:54 pm

I found a good place to lower you auto insurance.
You fill up your details and they send you up to 5 different quotes.
I wrote the site url under "website" when I wrote the reply.
This site also have health and life insurance deals...

Reply



Leave a Reply.